INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY DRAFT MEETING MINUTES SEPTEMBER 8, 2021

The Highlands County Industrial Development Authority Board of Directors meeting was held at the Lake Placid Government Center, 1069 US 27, Lake Placid, FL 33852, on Wednesday, September 8, 2021. Chair, Janet Barber, presided over the meeting; a quorum was present.

I. CALL TO ORDER – HIGHLANDS COUNTY INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY (IDA)

The September 8, 2021, Industrial Development Authority Board of Directors meeting was called to order at 7:31 a.m.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no comments from the public.

3. CONFIRMATION OF QUORUM

Name	Title	Organization	Present
Janet Barber	Chair	IDA/EDC Executive Committee	Yes
Ray Royce	Vice Chair	IDA/EDC Executive Committee	Yes
Carol Howard	Past Chair	IDA/EDC Executive Committee	No
Wade Taveniere	Secretary/Treasurer	IDA/EDC Executive Committee	Yes
Donna Doubleday	Director	IDA/EDC Board of Directors	Yes
Paul Koukos	Director	IDA/EDC Board of Directors	Yes
Thomas Leitzel	Director	IDA/EDC Board of Directors	Yes
John Shoop	Director	IDA/EDC Board of Directors	Yes
John Varady	Director	IDA/EDC Board of Directors	Yes
Craig Johnson	Director	IDA/EDC Board of Directors	Yes
Jim Renfro	Director	IDA/EDC Board of Directors	Yes
Jason Kimbrell	Director	IDA/EDC Board of Directors	No
Randy Surber	Director	IDA/EDC Board of Directors	Yes
Will Lenihan	Director	IDA/EDC Board of Directors	Yes
Kathy Rapp	Commissioner, Liaison	Highlands County BOCC	Yes
Leah Sauls	Dev. Services Director	Highlands County BOCC	Yes
Meghan DiGiacomo	Exec. Manager of Business & Economic Development	Highlands County BOCC	Yes
Jeff King	Economic Development Manager	Highlands County BOCC	Yes
Phillip Stegman	Planning Technician	Highlands County BOCC	Yes
Ann Martin	Chief Programs Officer	CareerSource Heartland	Yes
Tommy Massey	Maintenance Manager	Nucor Steel Florida	Yes

INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY DRAFT MEETING MINUTES SEPTEMBER 8, 2021

4. CONSENT AGENDA

The Consent Agenda, which included the June 9, 2021, meeting minutes, was presented for consideration. John Shoop moved to approve the consent agenda; seconded by Ray Royce. Motion carried unanimously.

5. OLD BUSINESS

A. Janet Barber, Chair, presented the Board Officers Election which included the Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary/Treasurer. Those elected would serve a term of two years for the Industrial Development Council. Those elected would also serve of two years for the Economic Development Commission concurrently.

Chair: Craig Johnson nominated Ray Royce to serve as Chair for the Industrial Development Authority and the Economic Development Commission; seconded by John Shoop. Motion carried unanimously.

Vice Chair: Dr. Thomas Lietzel nominated John Varady to serve as Vice Chair for the Industrial Development Authority and the Economic Development Commission; seconded by Craig Johnson. Motion carried unanimously.

Secretary and Treasurer: Ray Royce nominated Wade Taveniere to serve as Secretary and Treasurer for the Industrial Development Authority and the Economic Development Commission; seconded by Craig Johnson. Motion carried unanimously.

B. Meghan DiGiacomo, Executive Manager of Business & Economic Development and Jeff King, Economic Development Manager presented the Industrial Revenue Bond Update.

6. **NEW BUSINESS**

A. Meghan DiGiacomo, Executive Manager of Business & Economic Development and Jeff King, Economic Development Manager presented the Member Appointments. Craig Johnson, Jim Renfro, Dr. Thomas Lietzel, Donna Doubleday, and Carol Howard all had terms that would expire in September 2021. Craig Johnson, Jim Renfro, and Dr. Thomas Lietzel all reapplied for another term. If selected, Dr. Thomas Lietzel would be required to have a letter of recommendation from the Industrial Development Authority. Donna Doubleday and Carol Howard elected to not reapply. Instead, Anne Martin, Chief Programs Officer of CareerSource Heartland has submitted an application, as well as Tommy Massey, Maintenance Manager of Nucor Steel Florida also submitted an application.

INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY DRAFT MEETING MINUTES SEPTEMBER 8, 2021

Ray Royce recommended Craig Johnson for reappointment to the Industrial Development Authority; seconded by John Shoop. Motion carried unanimously.

Ray Royce recommended Jim Renfro for reappointment to the Industrial Development Authority; seconded by John Shoop. Motion carried unanimously.

Ray Royce recommended Dr. Thomas Lietzel for reappointment to the Industrial Development Authority pending a letter for recommendation being drafted; seconded by John Shoop. Motion carried unanimously.

Ray Royce recommended Ann Martin for appointment to the Industrial Development Authority; seconded by John Shoop. Motion carried unanimously.

Ray Royce recommended Tommy Massey for appointment to the Industrial Development Authority; seconded by John Shoop. Motion carried unanimously.

7. ADJOURNMENT

The September 8, 2021, Industrial Development Authority Board of Directors meeting was adjourned at 7:45 a.m.

Next Meeting:

Wednesday, December 8, 2021 at 7:30 a.m.
Nucor Steel Florida
22 Nucor Drive
Frostproof, FL 33843

Minutes Submitted By: Phillip Stegman, Planning Technician

Approval Date: 12/8/21